First off, I just want to say thank you for stopping by my blog and taking the time out of your day/night to read my post. I’m very humble and thankful that you chose to read.

I want to first start by giving some backstory to myself. I’m a 32 yo male, I am married and have two step-kids. I’ve been married once before and it was a disaster. I have no children of my own yet, key word there is yet. My wife and I have been trying to conceive or TTC for the last 3 years, basically as long as we have been married we have been trying. I didn’t give it much thought until the first year passed. We have been through much infertility treatments such as Intrauterine insemination or IUI for short and In-vitro fertilization or IVF, none of which have been successful yet. It will happen, I firmly believe that, but in the process I have learned more about myself and what it means to embrace masculinity than ever before.

Around about a year ago, I started watching some random YT videos and came across a guy named Tanner Guzy. He’s a great guy by the way and you can find him on twitter at Tanner Guzy. Anyways, I found his videos very inspiring. He talked about things like “The key to a strong presence” and “authentic and aspiration”. It really clicked and resonated with me. I began to dive deeper and started following him and others on Twitter. I soon realized I had discovered a group of men that are all like minded and view masculinity as imperative to having a successful life and leaving a legacy for others to respect. One of the people I met along the way was a man named Jack Murphy, you can find him on twitter as well: Jack Murphy.

Jack Murphy was the next positive influence in my life along this path of excellence that brought about action. He started a group called the Liminal Order. I signed up for his newsletter and didn’t really know if it was going to be for me or not. With each newsletter he sent, I became more and more intrigued by what the Liminal Order would be. He said it would be a place where like-minded men could talk and build friendships that on social media would be shunned. It was an avenue for men pursuing masculinity, honor, courage, bravery, and excellence to converse with each other. I was hooked.

I talked with my wife about it, she wasn’t too keen but she said it might be a good thing. I told her I felt like I needed to do it regardless of the membership price. I explained to her that the membership cost is a filter. You see, money in life can be a filter. People put more emphasis and dedication to where there money is. I wanted to be a part of it. A part of a group of men who took those values seriously. So, after deciding to work an extra day of overtime to cover the cost, I joined as a founding member.

It is more clear every day that this decision was one of the best decisions I’ve made. It has helped me see the true meaning in being a leader, a man, and a winner. I’ve met some really amazing people from all walks of life and have had some deep conversations as well. I don’t regret joining, which by the way if you are interested, here is a link to the site explaining what it is all about. Liminal Order and if you have questions or are interested in it, I’d be more than happy to talk to you about it!

That brings us to current. I started this blog in order to talk about masculinity and thought of the name masculinity unleashed. Unleashed because society would have us be put on a leash and as a man we can’t truly thrive unless we embrace masculinity for what it is, a true man. You see, society has trained men that to show masculine traits is a sign of toxicity. It has increasingly progressed more towards a feminine state. You can see this in movies, culture, social media, and the mainstream news media. As a man, if you show an ounce of masculinity you are coined a “sexist, misogynist, even racist”. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Masculinity is not about putting others down for your own personal gain, it is about building yourself up so that others gain from you.

I played video games for a very long time, got into the Twitch scene some, let it become an obsession and eventual addiction. What I began to realize though is that this addiction wasn’t healthy for myself, my family, or really anyone else. It was filled with meaningless victories that don’t translate into real world victories unless you are a pro gamer making millions(which is more rare than the norm). I decided as part of joining the Liminal Order that I would put more effort into myself and building up myself than investing into the video games. I have not been more happy than now. I still play from time to time as a hobby, but I have made a choice to not let it consume me. We all have choices and we are all masters of our own ship, it is what we choose to do as master that determines if that ship will sail into the horizon as victors or if it will go towards the rocks and sink.

I challenge you today to evaluate your life, look for things that are distractions from truly embracing yourself and ask the simple question “Does this benefit me, my family, and my destiny.” Our goal should be to pursue excellence in everything as men, and if we aren’t doing that, we are failing. We cannot afford to fail, too much is riding on the line and your life is fleeting. We must take every initiative to be the best we can as a man and make the right choices.

I hope that this has inspired you and whether you relate to my story or not, that you pursue masculinity and being the man you were created to be. There is more to your life than just eeking by. You can make a difference and you do matter. I hope you have enjoyed this post, feel free to leave comments or thoughts. Stay tuned for more!

Leave a comment